Church as Family?

I hear the phrase “church family” used frequently when people talk about Prince of Peace.  I really like the term. I’m going to challenge you to reflect on how you are a member of this family: what it means, what it looks like, what are family responsibilities…you get the idea.

When I rent a car, there are a few things I never do with my rental.  I never check the tires.  I never check the oil.  I never empty the ash tray.  I never have the car serviced. I never wash the car.  I do fill up the gas tank when I return the car (because I am too cheap to pay the $15 a gallon the rental company charges me if I don’t).

In sharp contrast, my own car is well cared for.  I check tires, have a lifetime alignment purchased, change the oil regularly, keep up with the regular maintenance schedule, and (believe it or not) even empty the ash tray (trash tray) regularly.  I wash it, wax it, and have even been know to use “Armor All” on to preserve the plastic parts of the car.

The difference is, it’s my car. I value it.  I’ve invested in it.  I’m supposed to take care of it.

To people, the church can be either a rental or theirs.  Using the family metaphor, this church is ours.  We are responsible for its maintenance, upkeep, health, beauty, ministries, facilities, vision… you get the idea.

How are you doing as a member of the family?  Are you taking your ownership/stewardship of this family seriously, or are you more like the renter?

I encourage you to be a strong, responsible member of the family, fully involved in working, praying, and giving for the spread of God’skingdom through this community of Christians.

Fr. Rand

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment